First Lady, 16 others for Swearing in As Permanent Secretaries

 First Lady, Dame Patience Jonathan will tomorrow 20th July be sworn-in along with 16 other new permanent secretaries in Yenagoa, the State capital of Bayelsa State. It will be recalled that the Bayelsa state governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson had been faulted for appointing the first lady as permanent secretary by Nigerians who saw it as a cheap way to seek favor from the first family. Already, her aides have started arriving Yenagoa to prepare for her arrival tomorrow. Portfolios is said to have been allotted to the new appointees and that tomorrow’s ceremony would be a formality. It is however not clear which of the ministries would be allotted to the first lady even though she was said to be an employee in the education ministry.

Osaro Agho